Take Me Home Tonight- July 27th

Take Me Home Tonight (2011)
English- Comedy
Rated “R”
Runtime- 97 min.
dir. Michael Dowse
 

I was hoping for a fresh take on a young people’s comedy with a 1980’s flair.  What it ended up being was just a regular, bland comedy that happens to take place in the 80’s.

Story/Writing: 1/2

Topher Grace plods around as the same unlucky guy he plays every movie.  A big party comes up, and he gets another chance with his high school crush.

Acting: 1/2

Everyone does their part in the tried and true formula, but it doesn’t ever get off the ground.

Photography/Set: 1.5/2

Typical.  It’s almost like this movie was actually made in the 80’s because of all the methods that were used.

Sound/FX: 1.5/2

Again, fairly average, but I did like the effects used on the soundtrack to give it a period feel.

Misc: 1/2

VERDICT: 6/10

Side-note: Yes, I know I’m really behind right now.  I’m working to catch up, so just stick with me.  I have a personal goal of completing this, so believe me when I say that I’m going to finish.  That said, sacrifices will have to be made, including a very streamlined review format (probably 150 words or less), and an entire month of easy to watch movies.  Thus, I am now declaring November to be “Jimmy Bond Month”.  During this span, I’ll be watching every single James Bond movie, as well as similar movies from the period.

About svolkmer

Photographer. Filmmaker. Nice guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

