I Need That Record!- May 4th

I Need That Record! (2008)
English- Documentary
Not Rated
dir. Brendan Toller
 

Although the headline title is attractive, the subtitle had me a little queasy once I saw it up close.  I also felt uneasy about the amount of accolades that the film apparently garnered.

I ended up giving it a shot anyway, just because of my interest in the actual subject matter.  I’m going to have to be more careful from now on, and go with more of my gut feeling.

Story/Writing: 1/2

Not really a whole lot there.  The regular ups and downs of a tragic documentary that ride out like a boring roller coaster.

Acting: 1.5/2

The people are nicely real, if a little pretentious.

Photography/Set: 1/2

The stores begin to blend together as we go from sob story to sob story.  The strip malls become indistinguishable from each other.

Sound/FX: 1.5/2

A pretty good soundtrack, which I would expect from a film that discusses music.  It’s too bad that the recording work is sub-par.

Misc: .5/2

Not a whole lot of lasting quality, but a whole lot of hipster quality.

VERDICT: 5.5/10

Skippable, unless you are really super interested in the content.

About svolkmer

Photographer. Filmmaker. Nice guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

