For March 8th- Rubber

I heard about Rubber as far back as I believe last spring, during one of my animation classes.  We watched the trailer in the class because of the stylistic approach that they used in making the titles.  Most of the Film majors in the class, including myself, were intrigued by the unique concept.  I had never followed up on finding a copy to watch until I began this project.

It is with mixed feelings that I now tell you that it is available on Netflix.

I haven’t quite decided what to think of this movie.  On the one hand, it’s a pretty cool idea.  On the other, it has occasionally bad execution issues.

Story/Writing: 1/2

The story arc is a little weak, but the writing from scene to scene is still pretty good.  Perhaps a few too many characters that the audience is supposed to care about.

Acting: 1/2

A few good performances can’t outshine the general laziness of the supporting cast.  Stephen Spinella is pretty darn funny as Police Lt. Chad.

Photography/Set: 1.5/2

The photography is normal, it doesn’t try anything new.  The sets are pretty good, really accomplishing the “middle-of-nowhere” feeling.

Sound/FX: 2/2

This is the main attraction of the film.  I would be interested to know about the puppeteer work and digital effects that went into the production.  The sound effects are pretty good too, really accentuating the intense parts of the movie.

Misc: 1/2

All the good pieces can’t seem to always match up, and sometimes the whole thing gets a little sidetracked.

VERDICT: 6.5/10

Not a wholly unfulfilling film.  Probably a good idea for film students to take a look at.

About svolkmer

Photographer. Filmmaker. Nice guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For March 8th- Rubber

  1. I’m definitely adding this to my queue. I’m interested.

Leave a Reply

