For Feb 16th- Tron: Legacy

This was another one of the blockbusters that I missed in the past couple years.  I mostly missed this one because I knew it was a Disney movie (don’t call me a hipster).  For this reason I was also surprised that it was not marketed very well, especially for it having the resources of the entire Disney conglomerate behind it.

But, of course, knowing that the Disney conglomerate is behind the creation of this product brings with it some certain prejudices from my side of the equation.  I know that they have contrived love stories between young people.  I know they have old people die. I know that good must always triumph. ETC…

Story/Writing: 1/2

Not very inspired, but you know, that’s Disney.  I did start to predict some lines before characters were able to say them, but the whole movie is still very watchable.

Acting: .5/2

This is the main fault of the whole movie.  It really slows down and gets completely boggy whenever characters are sitting in a room talking for any extended period.  Even Jeff Bridges and his two computerized clones can’t help make this part any better.

Photography/Set: 2/2

Really gorgeous.  Even those in the film industry who complain about the use of overly-computerized sets can’t complain with all of the real locations available in this movie.  All of the smaller rooms are totally tech’ed out and are very aesthetically pleasing.

Sound/FX: 2/2

Holy crap, this is where the thrill ride of the movie is.  Daft Punk’s soundtrack rocks the whole way through.  The visuals are also crisp and clean.  There is a great unification between the two, and they compliment each other well.

Misc: 1.5/2

I really wanted to break the rules and give the previous category a two and a half out of two because it was so awesome, but I relented and instead gave the bonus here.  I also really liked the depiction of violence inside “The Grid”, and it was actually a little surprising for a Disney flick.

VERDICT: 7/10

A good watch, especially if you have a good home theater system available to you.  I’m definitely picking up the soundtrack!

About svolkmer

Photographer. Filmmaker. Nice guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

