For Feb 13th- Shaolin Soccer

So I am now officially subscribed to DVDs on Netflix, the turnaround time isn’t great here.  This leads to a delay between when I can watch the movies I had planned to, so I have to skip some.  Don’t worry, the films I do skip because of this reason are getting added to the back end of the list.  My planning in the future will be better as well.

Now, in order to replace “A Streetcar Named Desire”, I used my random movie method.  And of course, I selected yet another Kung Fu movie by complete chance.  This one was a film I had seen a part of when I was younger, “Shaolin Soccer”.  I was glad that I came across this great little movie.

Story/Writing: 1.5/2

A pretty unique idea: Kung Fu masters applying their skills to soccer.  The writing is silly and the plot never takes itself seriously, which makes for a lighthearted quality.

Acting: 1.5/2

Everyone plays their parts really over-the-top, making for a lot of fun.  Stephen Chow is very funny as the lead, as well as directing the others to do likewise.

Photography/Set: 1/2

Kind of boring as far as set pieces go.  A bunch of empty lots everywhere.  The photography is interesting enough, but perhaps uses a few too many still frames.

Sound/FX: 2/2

Pretty good for 2001.  As completely wacky as the rest of the movie.

Misc: 2/2

A really fun to watch little film that had me laughing quite a bit.

VERDICT: 8/10

Great for anyone!

About svolkmer

Photographer. Filmmaker. Nice guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

