For Feb 10th- Street Thief

I had no idea what I was getting into when I began watching this film.  It starts out a little strange, but it begins to clear up very quickly.  The main misunderstanding for me was what the film was about and where it was going.

The way the subject matter is presented is so realistic, that distinguishing it from reality is sometimes difficult.

With a little bit of research, I found out more about the film after watching it than I could first glean from when I first saw it.  Anyway, here’s my thoughts on what it is.

Story/Writing: 2/2

It’s a hard to describe mesh of documentary and fiction.  It centers around a documentary crew capturing the exploits of a burglar as he goes around his daily (and nightly) routines.

Acting: 1.5/2

No one ever drops character, and it feels real the whole way home.

Photography/Set: 1/2

Even if this was a real documentary, the camera angles are shameful.  The sets are cool and I’m interested to know how they sought permission to shoot some of the scenes.

Sound/FX: 1/2

Again, not great, even for a real no-budget documentary.  When it comes to the effects, you can tell it’s all real, but I have to wonder again who they got all these permissions and supplies from.

Misc: 2/2

The way it was presented was really cool, and that gets a lot of points.

VERDICT: 7.5/10

I’m not really sure what else to say about this movie, other than that if you are interested in well made documentary-style fiction, it’s definitely worth a watch.

About svolkmer

Photographer. Filmmaker. Nice guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

