For Feb 27th: The Call of Cthulhu

Don't answer the phone

So here’s this weird movie I found while browsing the Netflix database.  My eye was caught by both the title and by the neat cover art.  I was surprised, however, after looking it over, to see that it was only 47 minutes long!  This, along with the production date of 2005, had me jotting it quickly down onto my list.

I’m glad to say that although it certainly didn’t disappoint, it wasn’t as great as I thought it would be.  Perhaps because I really didn’t know what to expect in the first place.

The review is a little sparse because the movie itself is.

Story/Writing: 2/2

Sticks fairly close to the source in most ways.  If you aren’t familiar with the original story, find a copy and read it for yourself, as I won’t give a synopsis here.  There isn’t too much dialogue, because the film is done in a silent style.

Acting: 1.5/2

Pretty good silent acting all around.  Easy to tell that it’s a little low-rent, but good nonetheless.

Photography/Set: 1.5/2

Again, not super-high budget, but they work very well with what they have.  It’s all done very practically and doesn’t reuse too many shots or sets, mostly because it’s not very long.

Sound/FX: 1.5/2

Kind of a double-edged sword here.  The effects aren’t fantastic, but that kind of sticks with the style of the film.  The problem is that the editor doesn’t know to cut away from bad shots.  The music is written fairly well, but not orchestrated properly.

Misc:1.5/2

A neat little independent film.  Something that I don’t often say.  I would like to think that if it were to be made bigger and fancier would be better, but hopefully I can leave that to Mr. del Toro.

VERDICT: 8/10

Definitely worth your 47 minutes, especially if you’re a fan.

About remklov

Just a film student on a mission. That mission? To watch a movie I haven't seen before for every day of 2012! Good movies, bad movies, old and new and everything in between. Then I write about them and let people know what I think. I take suggestions, so if you have one you want me to see, let me know!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

