For Feb 24th: The Bells of St. Mary’s

I know that I may have come down on some family and kid-oriented movies.  I really do give them a chance to surprise me.  Thinking of other movies I’ve seen, I know that it is more than possible for a film with a target audience of “everyone” to actually appeal to everyone.  It’s not super-hard, and you don’t have to necessarily have to sacrifice certain parts in order to get there, *cough*Disney’sromancesubplots

Excuse me. Anyway, this Bells of St. Mary’s seemed like it might be a classic.  I had heard a lot about it, and so I put it on this list, maybe expecting something that I normally might not get in a post-war family flick.  I may or may not have been wrong.

Story/Writing: 1/2

Crosby is Father O’Malley, a priest assigned to an inner city Catholic school that is literally falling apart.  Bergman is the headstrong Sister Benedict, the nun in charge of the schooling of the pupils.  Initially, the nuns at the school are apprehensive of O’Malley’s methods, but eventually learn to accept his ideas as they attempt to procure a new building for the school.  Kinda blandy.

Acting: 1.5/2

One of the highlights of the movie, and there’s not much to be said.  Crosby and Bergman are the central characters of the film, and they carry the weight well.  Their on-screen interactions are interesting to watch, but only in separate scenes.

Photography/Set: 1.5/2

Also not much to say here.  It’s very easy to frame dramas.  The sets were pretty good, though, everything looked pretty real, I’d be interested to know if they film on-location somewhere.

Sound/FX: 1.5/2

Obviously the effects weren’t important, outside of the lighting, which is a big deal for a black and white movie.  The sound was well captured, especially for the time.

Misc: 1/2

Apparently, Father O’Malley is a character from a previous movie, Going My Way, and Bells was actually made by another studio.  This movie may be an example of a poor handling of acquired intellectual property.

VERDICT: 6.5/10

Like I said at the beginning, meh.

P.S.- This formatting business on WordPress is becoming a headache.  I just want my paragraphs aligned a certain way without spillage, is that too much to ask?

About remklov

Just a film student on a mission. That mission? To watch a movie I haven't seen before for every day of 2012! Good movies, bad movies, old and new and everything in between. Then I write about them and let people know what I think. I take suggestions, so if you have one you want me to see, let me know!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

