For Feb 22nd: Castaway on the Moon

Falling prey again to Asian movies, I watched this performance-focused Korean film. I will again use my previous defenses of my frequency of watching films like these, so there.

Drawn in by both an interesting idea, as well as a 4.75 out of 5 rating on Netflix, the movie was irresistible to a nerd like me.  The main idea of the story is the audience following, Kim Seung-Keun, a bankrupt manager.  His attempted suicide ends up marooning him on an island in the middle of a river that runs through the city.  Faced with his new isolation, Seung-Keun is forced to cope with his life alone.

Story/Writing: 2/2

Strays away from the typical “Castaway” plot in that Seung-Keun comes to realize that he actually likes disappearing from society.  He eventually forms a pen pal-style relationship with a shut-in girl who observes him from across the river.

Acting: 1.5/2

Jung Jae-Young and Jung Ryu-Woon are great in the leading roles, both investing emotionally into their characters.

Photography/Set: 2/2

The island is really interesting and eclectic, without losing the audience.  I also liked the apartment that Ryu-Woon’s shut in character lived in.

Sound/FX: 1.5/2

There were noticeable digital effects, but they were tasteful and kept with the lighter visual style.  The sound is also good, and really serves to accent both the comedic and dramatic moods.  I also liked the soundtrack.

Misc: 1.5/2

A fun little character study.

VERDICT: 8.5/10

A pretty great movie.  Fun to watch for those looking for a smart comedy.

About remklov

Just a film student on a mission. That mission? To watch a movie I haven't seen before for every day of 2012! Good movies, bad movies, old and new and everything in between. Then I write about them and let people know what I think. I take suggestions, so if you have one you want me to see, let me know!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

